End of My Dream, Start of My Website

12/01/2019

Usually, people publishes what their website is about for their first blog post. I've done that before of almost all of my websites pero iibahin ko naman dito ngayon. For my first post, I will tell y'all about my dream for these past years that now have came true. 

Getting My Dream Started

High school pa lang, nangangarap na ako of having my own website. It was my first year in college taking up Information Technology when I learned of making website via WordPress following lots of tutorials in the internet. I tried tons of different website builders but that's the only one that is easy to use for me. I remember how happy I was that day that I shared the link of my website to all of my friends. That's how I got it the world of web development, web design and writing blogs but I don't even know it that time. I do not have web development classes that time yet. I'm just enjoying the process of learning, making, writing, designing and publishing. 

My websites are free websites hosted by WordPress, meaning they're all subdomains of the WordPress website. It was like that for years then I come across with the new WordPress domains home.blog, poetry.blog, etc. But I'm still not free of WordPress. 

I learned more about web development at school and I can say that it wasn't as easy as having a website builder but I really enjoyed everything from the scratch, from an empty HTML file, looking forward that some day and some how I will have my own website whether free or paid website with my own domain name. 

The End of My Dream

My dream ended because finally, it came true. I now have my free hosted and free domain name website. I am truly happy. It was my dream for years and now I have it, how can not be happy? 

Last 29th of November, I encountered a video on YouTube offering a tutorial on how to have a website with free domain, free hosting and free website using Google Drive. I watched it and followed its instructions. But it doesn't work for me because it's more on back-end web development. Then, YouTube recommended other videos regarding free websites. I, next watched and followed the video on making free domain name at Freenom.com, free hosting at InfinityFree.net, and free website builder at WordPress.com. It takes a day before it made done for confirmation purposes. I cannot wait until tomorrow. But when tomorrow has come, it still didn't work. It sadden me actually.

I still find another tutorials of the same method but I encountered a video tutorial using Google Sites website. It's easy to use but still not a free domain site. Then, naisip ko na bakit hindi na lang Google Sites pero in my own domain. I researched about it on YouTube and luckily, I found one. This time, I only need Freenom and Google Sites, and then I have my own website. I also used NakedSSL as the creator of the video recommends for website address purposes. 

Endings Are Not Always Sad

To make the dream to come to an end is a very joyful moment for me because finally, hindi ko na iisipin pa ang tungkol sa pagkakaroon ng sarili kong website dahil meron na ako. 

Thank God!

© 2020 Maria Kristina Salada. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started